Vital Records
   
Vital Records - Information & Request Form 
Archival Records available 
 
 
  • Birth records from 1877 forward. 
  • Death records from 1878 forward. 
  • Marriage records from 1837 forward. 
  
Each record search requires 
 
  • a photo ID 
  • a signed Application or a signed letter 
  • (Acrobat Reader is Required) 
  • a $12 search fee for birth and marriage records  (This fee is retained even if no record is found.) 
  • additional copies of the same record issued at the same time will be assessed a fee of $2.00 each 
  • a $14 search fee for any death records 
  • additional copies of the same record issued at the same time will be assessed a fee of $4.00 each 
 
**Note: Birth records are available to the individual 18 years and older, or to the parent of a child. 
 
Marriage License Information 
 
Where to Apply 
Both parties must appear in the office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday. 
 
Office of McHenry County Clerk 
McHenry County Administration Building 
667 Ware Road, Room 107 
Woodstock, IL 60098 
 
Persons Who May NOT Marry 
  • Blood relatives, down to cousins of the first degree may not marry under the laws of the State of Illinois. 
  • The fee for a marriage license is thirty dollars ($30.00) cash. 
  • Qualifications - Residents of the State of Illinois 
  • Age Requirements  -   Both parties must have attained the age of 18 years at the time the marriage license is effective or will have attained the age of 16 years and have either the consent to the marriage of both parents or their guardian or judicial approval. 
 
Proof of Age 
Applicants who are 18 years of age and under must present their birth certificate as proof of age. 
Medical Examination -  None required. 
Identification - Photo ID is required for both parties. 
Qualifications - Non Residents. Non-residents must comply with the requirements of their respective states. Non-residents requiring consent of parents or legal guardian must obtain a consent sworn to before the COUNTY CLERK or a NOTARY PUBLIC. 
 
Important: Persons obtaining license in McHenry County may NOT use the license to marry in any other county.  A license to marry becomes effective in the county where it was issued one (1) day after the date of issuance, unless the court orders that the license is effective when issued, and expires sixty (60) days after it becomes effective.  If there was a prior marriage for one or both applicants, ending in divorce, the parties must provide the County Clerk with a certified copy of the divorce decree or decrees pertaining to such prior marriage or marriages. 
 
 
Civil Union Information 
General Information 
 
1.  Civil Unions may be entered into by same-sex and heterosexual couples of at least 18 years of age 
2.  After obtaining a license, a couple must wait until the following day to have their civil union ceremony performed by an officiant such as a judge or religious official 
3.  A license will be valid for 60 days after being issued 
4.  A license must returned to the County Clerk’s office within 10 days from the date of the ceremony 
5.  A civil union must be dissolved in court, the same as a marriage 
6.  Documentation of the dissolution must be provided 
7.  Persons obtaining a license in McHenry County may NOT use the license in any other County 
 
Where to Apply 
 
Both parties must appear in the County Clerk’s office between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm Monday thru Friday 
 
Office of McHenry County Clerk 
McHenry County Administration Building 
667 Ware Road, Room 107 
Woodstock, IL 60098 
Phone  815-334-4242 
 
Persons who may NOT enter into a civil union 
1. Persons not attaining 18 year of age 
2. Blood relatives, down to cousins of the first degree may not enter into a civil union under the laws of the State of Illinois 
 
Fee -  The fee for a civil union, in McHenry County, is thirty dollars ($30.00) cash 
Proof of Age -  Applicants who are 18 years of age must present their birth certificate as proof of age. 
Identification -  Photo ID is required for both parties 
Qualifications – Non Residents. Anyone entering into a civil union must be free to enter into a civil union in the jurisdiction where they reside